Never Gonna Win Mother of the Year

So as my title implies, I’m never going to win “Mother of the Year” when it comes to my boys.  No, I’m not neglectful or mean or anything like that…I’m klutzy and forgetful and ONLY with my children, absent-minded.

I took them to a walking track/park near the house today so I could exercise and they could get some fresh air.  In the past, I would never do this.  I always considered exercise my personal time, just for me.  Well, if I waited until they weren’t with me, I’d probably never exercise again.

We made it around the first loop fairly well.  I started thinking, “Hey, this isn’t so bad.  I really can do what other normal single moms do.”  Until my oldest needed to go to the bathroom.  This park is amazing – lighted pavilions, plenty of benches, a gazebo, and CLEAN bathrooms. 

But the bathrooms are at the top of a hill…a steep hill.  We pushed the stroller up the hill…I say we because Aidan absolutely helped me.  We got to the top and my main concern was getting Aidan into the bathroom without violating anyone else’s privacy.  While I was reminding him to lock the stall door, I heard a strange noise. I turned around and Sean’s stroller was rolling downhill- straight to the pond!!

I now understand what people mean when they say time stands still and things seem to happen in slow motion.  And I have never felt such fear in my life!

I took off running (good to know I still can) and screamed, “Sean!!!”  My keys flew out of one pocket, my cell phone out of the other. I caught him just as the stroller was about to tip into the pond.  Sean was laughing until he saw my face.  I can only imagine the panic on it.

And then I turned and calmly pushed him back up the hill.  Aidan, being the beautiful 5 year old that he is, said, “Mommy, did you almost lose Sean?”  Internally, I said, “Holy hell, YES, I almost did! OMG! OMG!”  Outwardly, I just looked at him and said, “Almost doesn’t count, baby.  He’s fine.”

Back in the day, I would have felt like dying of embarassment and immediately rushed home.  Now, I know I don’t have that choice unless I want to be a hermit.  So we walked another couple of loops around the pond.  Aidan finally stopped reminding me over and over again that I nearly lost Sean.  And eventually, my stomach stopped hurting.

One day, NOT today, but one day, I might even laugh about this.

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on May 1, 2011, in Mother of the Year and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

