Independent Michaela – WTF?

I’ve had a couple of comments about the name of my blog – Independent Michaela (which is also my email address) – so I thought I’d explain it. 

There’s not much to explain (how’s that for anticlimactic?).  Several weeks ago, for the first time in my adult life (I’ll be saying that a lot), I needed to sign up for a new email address.  I needed something that didn’t contain my last name because it will change…eventually.  But I wanted something that had meaning to me.

I’ve never been good with titles and names.  That’s too few words to describe something.  I’m a talker, an explainer…I’ll explain what I’m about to tell you, and spend 5 minutes giving background information, before I ever get to the point.  Twitter is hard for me.

So there I am at Google, signing up for a non-work related, non-“Benjamin” email…and the word that kept coming to mind was Independent.

At the time, it was sort of this fuzzy concept…something I was striving for.  My family has told me for as long as I can remember that I’m extremely independent.  My Almost-Ex hated it about me.  But I’ve never felt independent. 

The day I had to decide, over the phone, to let the mechanic do $1100 worth of work to the car, and yeah, I’ll apply for a Tires Plus credit card (’cause how ELSE was I going to pay for that much work?), and I made the decision on my own, I knew I was inching, slowly, towards independence.  It’s a small thing for most…but it was momentous to me.  The $1100 made it that much more…special…yeah, that’s the word…special

It’s still a concept to me…but don’t ask my family or close friends.  They’ll tell you I’m maddeningly independent…make-you-want-to-smack-someone independent…feel-sorry-for-the-next-man-in-my-life independent.

I just keep thinking of this…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on May 2, 2011, in Independent Michaela and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

