Karma and Choices

Ever since I started this blog (yeah, I know it’s only been 3 days), I’m filled with ideas of what to write about next.

This morning, I was mentally writing this post while driving down the road…it was all sunshine and laughing babies – ok more like Pitbill and Black Eyed Peas – but you get my point.

This afternoon?  Not so much.

I was given a very clear reminder about Karma. Karma can be your friend…or your worst enemy.   

My philosophy in life is to do what’s right…even if, and especially when, it’s hard.  In recent weeks, I’ve done things that my family and close friends would say I’m crazy to do.  But my gut tells me it was the right thing to do.   

Being repaid today by being called selfish was hard to swallow.  And when an emergency came up and I was the only one with a solution and an offer to help, it was tempting to take the easy road, and say, “Oh hell no, asshole.”  But you do what’s right even when it’s hard…

By the end of the day, I certainly wasn’t thinking of sunshine and babies anymore…I was thinking about Karma.  Is my Karma good?  Is that why it feels like nothing too serious is happening?  Or am I just handling life better so what I would have once considered a crisis is no big deal?  Is it his negativity that’s holding him back?  Is it as simple as making the right choices? Does he just have bad Karma?

And then, like a little ray of light, I heard Aidan reading his new book (gotta love those money fairies that slip $5 in your backpack for the Book Fair), sounding out the words, and proclaiming it “his FAVORITE book.”  At that moment all those questions in my head seemed meaningless.  There are so many more important things in life…and they deserve to be celebrated.

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on May 3, 2011, in Moments in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

