Mother’s Day 2011 – Doin’ It Our Way

There was no breakfast in bed, flowers, chocolates, and whatever else some mother’s are treated to for Mother’s Day.  Sleeping in consisted of getting up at 7:45 a.m., breakfast was an omelet I made for myself, and if I want chocolate, well…we still have Easter candy.

I never had any of that so I certainly don’t miss it.  I don’t need the trappings of a “typical” Mother’s Day…today I had the best Mother’s Day I’ve ever had. 

My mom is in town to watch the boys while I go out of town for work (I am a lucky, lucky woman!).  We decided to take the boys to the zoo and then out to eat.  We had a blast!  Almost Ex and I have taken Aidan to the zoo before but he was young and didn’t really get into it.  Now that he’s older, it was awesome!  He wanted to look at and touch everything.  (Sean is still at that age where he’s just a looky-loo.)

Aidan requested Red Lobster for lunch…and then ate NOTHING but chips and half a biscuit.  That’s my picky eater!

The best part of the whole day wasn’t until we came home.  Watching my mother rolling around on the floor with her grandbabies was amazing.  She didn’t have that luxury with me when I was a kid.  And I know she loves every minute of it now.

I know that there a million and one amazing reasons to be a mom, but today, I feel like the best Mother’s Day present I ever gave my mom was grandkids…she was lighthearted and goofy with them and it was amazing to watch.

It was very nice to have a day without the stress and craziness of a divorce weighing on my mind.  Yeah, it’s still there but it was the least important thing in the world.

This is what’s important:

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on May 8, 2011, in Moments in Life, Mother of the Year and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

