Meaningful Conversations Needed

I realize I haven’t blogged since Sunday…well, I have, just not here.  But I’ve been itching to.  I’m not good at it yet, but I think I can call myself a blogger…a newbie to be sure, but definitely a blogger.

I haven’t blogged this week because I’ve been on a business trip and I felt like I shouldn’t use that time to do something so personal.  But since I just finished up the last bit of work left to do, I felt it was time.  I’ve missed being here.

I’ve done a lot of different things this week – attended meetings, shot video, taken pictures, tweeted, walked…and walked.  And, I’ve networked.  I’m not a natural networker…Most people don’t believe this, but I am actually extremely introverted.  I don’t know how to make small talk.  I tend to be shy in a group of people I don’t know.  And I don’t feel comfortable just walking up to a stranger and introducing myself.  I’m learning, though.

I did meet great people this week and had some great business discussions.  One new friend kept calling me a rockstar, which is always good for the ego.  She liked my ideas, I liked her’s, and we clicked.  And that’s part of what is supposed to happen when you network.

What I miss (outside of work and networking) are good conversations.  I have a small handful of people who I can just talk to.  I don’t mean people who listen to me gripe and give advice (they do that too).  I mean people you can just sit down with over coffee (ok Diet Coke for me) and talk about whatever.  Or, because I’m a “Millenial” (I guess), people to text and instant message with.

This isn’t a woe-is-me, I’m so lonely thing.  It’s an observation.  I’m great one-on-one and not too great with groups.  I like to talk to people I connect with.  I wish I could do it more often.  Good conversations (no matter how short) keep me grounded, make me feel connected, and help me feel at peace with the world.

 So if you ever see me standing off to the side in a crowded room, I’m probably feeling shy and a little unsure.  Introduce me to someone you know and let’s go have a Diet Coke.

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on May 13, 2011, in Independent Michaela and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

