All Over The Place

So this has been one of those emotional-roller-coaster days…This morning I was energized, ready to go, full of plans…by mid-morning, I was cranky and impatient…by mid-afternoon, I was feeling low (I hate that!)…now I’m back to feeling energized again.  Ok, so I guess I understand why guys don’t understand women…after all that, hell, even I’m confused…

This morning, after dealing with Aidan’s morning grouchiness, I was exuberant, ready to go to work, full of plans.  Not to jinx myself, but I’ve reached out to the Boys and Girls Club of Crestview and offered to volunteer for them (waiting to hear what they say).  I made this decision about 5 minutes after I signed Aidan up for their summer program.  I was absolutely amazed at what they offer for the summer and during the school year! I immediately felt the need to give back…

The low-ness of the afternoon was after too many encounters with Almost Ex.  It’s amazing how quickly things can degrade between two people who were together for so many years.  We don’t trust each other anymore, and it affects every interaction.

Aidan helped pull me out of my funk tonight…it started with reading my personal fave at bedtime (Llama, Llama, Red Pajama – hey don’t knock it ’til you’ve read it!)…and then, as he was about to go to sleep (and I was apologizing for fighting with his father in front of him – again), he asked about step-mom’s and step-dad’s (WHERE did he learn about those?!)…I explained to him that it would take a very, very, VERY special person to be his step-mom or his step-dad…a loooooooooooong time from now…he was satisfied with that (thank God!)…

I (along with most people) would prefer to stay on an even keel every day.  But I’m starting to appreciate what I learn about myself on days like today.  Sadly, what I learned today was that I seem to do better on my own.  Uh-oh, that can’t be good because I really don’t want to be a cat-lady when I grow up!

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on May 17, 2011, in Independent Michaela, Moments in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

