Perspective Needed and Found

Today is my 9th wedding anniversary…

I didn’t know how I would feel, especially since I wasn’t exactly devastated when I filed for divorce.  But I was completely unprepared for how it affected me today.  I didn’t miss him, I wasn’t sad…but I was definitely….off.

I remembered to brush my teeth, but I forgot to floss.  I remembered to put my make-up on, but I forgot to do my hair.  I remembered to put on my jewelry, but I forgot to put on my watch.  I forgot to comb Sean’s hair!  Thank God I remembered to put on clothes!!

And then I was (metaphorically) sucker-punched.  Social media can be an amazing thing – it connects us, it shows us our commonalities.  But it can also be used to hurt and I often forget that – because I don’t live my life that way. 

I have made mistakes in the past…some people think they understand or have knowledge – they don’t.  But to throw my own mistakes back in my face as a way to hurt me…that I don’t get.  And it made an “off” day much, much worse…which was probably their goal.

Have you ever had something small happen to you, but it feels like the whole world MUST know about it because it’s so huge to you?  Yeah, me too. 

I constantly put a lot of pressure on myself to be the best I can be in everything I do – professionally and personally.  And when I slip, it hits me on a deep level – it’s difficult for me to recover because I’m so hard on myself.  So, I set out to prove myself (to myself)…I put my head down, I work harder than ever before…I don’t ever want to be defined by my mistakes.  And so, while I’m piling on the work, I’m piling on the pressure.

All that is to say that by mid-afternoon, as the pressure mounted, I hit a breaking point.  Thankfully my Brother-from-another-mother stepped in and calmed me down.  He reminded me that I am bigger and better than the pettiness of people who only want to cause pain and uncertainty.  He reminded me that hard work pays off. 

If that encouragement wasn’t enough, by the end of the day, my sweet boy Aidan brought it all home. 

“Oh man…you’re a REAL mom…and you’re very special.”  What do you say to that?! Other than thank you, of course…

He heard me talking to my mom tonight as I reminded her that today is my wedding anniversary. 

Aidan looked at me with deep concern and said, “But Mommy, you need someone to love!” I immediately reminded him that I have several people to love including him, Sean, and his grandmother. “But Mommy, I want a stepdad…so I can give him a hug.” Ok, so if my heart didn’t already hurt enough, that was the kicker.

Needless to say, he got a lot of extra hugs tonight…and I’ve gotten my perspective back.

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on May 19, 2011, in Moments in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

