Everybody Needs A Cheering Section

I came to a few realizations today.  I come to new realizations everyday but today was particularly enlightening.

I have always believed, and am now committed to, only allowing the people who want to see me succeed into my inner circle.  I’m referring to those people who will push me to be my best and will help me succeed by giving me all the encouragement and support they can – all the while knowing I will do the same for them.

Everyone deserves to have a cheering section; people who want to see you succeed.  I am discovering that I have that – I had it all along and never paid attention. 

While I’m in the process of trying to overcome my own shyness and insecuries, I’ve also had to accept that overtures of friendships that are ignored are NOT worth pursuing.  If that person isn’t interested, why am I killing myself to make them notice me?

I have a few philosophies in life that I’ve adopted recently: never make someone a priority when they only consider you an option (thanks Mark Twain for that gem!); don’t chase!! (my horoscope came in handy one day); and I won’t compete – I don’t want to fight and elbow my way through the crowd just to get someone’s attention.

I also (sadly) had to let go of a silly crush today.  First of all, why I had a crush on someone is beyond me – I’m not in high school!! Second, I am in NO way ready to even pursue a relationship (hello, I’m still married!).  But there you go, I had a crush on someone who doesn’t know I’m alive.  Thankfully his obvious total lack of interest in me brought me crashing to my senses today. 

It goes back to the “don’t chase” philosophy.  When the day comes (many, many, MANY moons from now) that I’m actually ready for a relationship, I will not settle for someone who has to be convinced to pay attention me.  I am a better woman than that, and I will always deserve better than that.

I just re-read what I’ve written, and it sounds like I’ve had a bad day or that I’m trying to make some sort of statement.  I haven’t and I’m not.  I’ve had an epiphany – one that came with a few growing pains, but an epiphany nonetheless.  I deserve better than I’ve had and only I can make sure I receive better than I’ve gotten.

Here’s what I’m trying to achieve:

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on May 26, 2011, in Moments in Life, Thinking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

