Parenting Class

I sat through a court-ordered parenting class today…it’s a prerequisite to the divorce.  And hell, I think married couples should take this class.  I think people THINKING about having children should take this class.

My big take away was to do everything in my power to not let the boys hear or see the conflict between me and Almost Ex.  I’m tired of having to apologize to Aidan for arguing in front him.  The day I found myself in the Burger King parking lot losing my shit to someone I feel apathetic towards was definitely NOT my finest moment. (And probably means I’m not as apathetic as I’d like to be.)

I was amazed at the amount of divorcing couples that were in the class…together.  How do they do that?  I can’t be in the same room as Almost Ex for more than about 30 seconds…I can’t imagine 4 hours…sitting side-by-side…

So that’s the start of my day – dealing with the end of a 12 year relationship…and now I’m ending my day with “He’s Just Not That Into You” and I desperately hope that I’m never that crazy about relationships…I hope I can ALWAYS tell when he’s just not that into me…

Thankfully, I’ve got two little boys who are nuts about me, and I adore them.  As long as I don’t start accumulating cats, I think I’ll be just fine.

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on May 28, 2011, in Moments in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I can understand where you are coming from. My parents were divorced when I was 5 and it was very hard on us kids. We were lucky because we had a Mom who really cared about us two boys just as much as you care about your two. They are lucky to have you as well.

Leave a Reply

