If You Don’t Have Anything Nice To Say, Just Shut Up!

I wasn’t even planning on blogging tonight.  I had a decent day.  Work was busy (yay!), the boys were well-behaved this afternoon (YAY!), and something I listed on Craigslist finally sold (BIG YAY!).  Life was good – what’s to blog about?  Actually, that’s probably the worst attitude to have because I shouldn’t just post something when I’m at one extreme or another…knowing that I have “normal” days might make me seem less neurotic…

But I’m confused about something, and I’m wondering if I’m the exception to the rule, or if I’m naive…or if I’m right to cock my head to the side, squint, and say, “WTF?”

My mama taught me that if you don’t have something nice to say about someone, you shouldn’t say anything.  Thumper taught me that, too…And let me be clear, as far as I know, no one is saying anything about me (and if they are, I don’t want to know)…but I keep finding out that there are people in the world who have no problems disparaging people, places, ideas, whatever, just because they can.  And I don’t get it.

I don’t understand what random negativity gains people.  Yes, I have had a moment of frustration when I’m sure I’ve said something less-than-flattering about someone else.  But I’ve never sought out another person solely to be negative about anything.  Isn’t that tiring?  Even when I purposefully have to say something negative, my management training from years ago kicks in – say something positive, talk about the negative (sometimes referred to as “opportunities”), and then end with something positive.

With the craziness in my own personal life, I’ve made the conscious decision NOT to be negative (even when I really, REALLY want to)…negativity always comes back to haunt you.  Why bring that on yourself? 

Venting (in my book) doesn’t count.  Venting your frustrations to someone who cares about you but is not directly involved is healthy (at least, that’s how I justify it to myself).  If I didn’t vent sometimes, I’d probably explode.  But even a good vent shouldn’t be filled with meanness (is that a word?)…

So I guess I would love to understand…why?   What purpose does pure, unadulterated negativity serve?

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on June 2, 2011, in Thinking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

