Random Thoughts

Today was strange for me…because it wasn’t “the best day ever” but it also wasn’t filled with strife, angst, and confusion.  It definitely falls into the category of “good day” though…

I wanted to blog today but without excellence or a crisis, at first I was at a loss…but I’m always filled with random thoughts…

My kids are freaking smart.  I don’t mean academically; they’re too young for that.  Aidan is keenly aware of what goes on around him and puts two and two together better than most adults I know.  I am in SO much trouble when he gets older…Sean watches his big brother do something once and will attempt to emulate it.  I am in awe of him sometimes…

I need to set more “playdates” for myself. I hung out with a Cool Chick today and realized that I’m becoming more comfortable with big crowds, new experiences, and not having a clue where I’m going or what I’m doing.  And yeah, I should probably set playdates for the boys, too.

I am inordinately pleased when I hear the boys singing along with songs I like.  I think I should be horrified that they know words to Lady Gaga songs, but I’m not.  I crack a huge smile when I realize that all three of us are singing together.  Our personal favorite is Give Me Everything by Pitbull – I should probably be bothered by that…I’m not.

Fabric softener is an amazing thing.  The dryer is broken (it needs a new heating element and someone with the expertise to install it – not a huge priority for me right now) and has been for about a month.  But I just NOW bought fabric softener…what the hell was I waiting for? I might as well have worn a freaking hair shirt everyday. 

I love to read so much that I am willing to sacrifice sleep to finish my book.  Case in point: last night I started a new book at 9:00pm and stayed up until I was finished at 1:00am.  I’d been up since 5:00am the day before when I finally went to bed.  Yep, I’m a reader.  I have a book waiting for me right now that I am absolutely itching to start – and I’ve read it a few times before.

A lot of people don’t realize that I am technically “a weight-loss success story” even though I still have about 30lbs to lose.  When Aidan was 1, I finally got fed up with being fat.  Over about 3 years, I lost 88 lbs.  I’ve gained about 8 of those pounds back during the past few months.  But yeah, I was overweight for my entire adolescence and most of my 20s.  No pills, no surgery, no meetings – just eating right and working out.  It was hard, it took forever, and I REALLY want to get my ass back in gear so I can finally lose the last little bit.  I feel empowered when I’m eating the way I should be and working out.  I love that feeling.

I guess that’s enough randomness for one night.  My book is calling my name…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on June 4, 2011, in Random and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

