Raising Boys

I almost called this “Shit My Kids Say” or “Shit I Say to My Kids,” but I can’t ever remember enough of what happens after it happens for that to be very meaningful. 

Today, I actually uttered the statement, “Aidan, please remove the rocks from your underwear.”  And later, “Aidan, please take your face out of Sean’s butt.”  Sean was wearing his diaper AND pants, I swear.

Aidan says (with great frequency), “Mommy, I have a weeeeeeener.”  Which is usually followed up with, “Mommy, do you have a weeeeeeener?” (He adds the emphasis, by the way.)

And I have no idea if being obsessed with one’s penis is normal for a 5 year old boy.  If the men I know are any indication, it’s probably normal when they’re 35, too.  I just want to raise relatively well-adjusted boys into relatively well-adjusted men.  And lately, it seems like I’m doing it on my own.  So of course, I worry about screwing them up more so than every parent screws up their kids.

But, on the bright side (because there is ALWAYS a bright side), I seem to be letting go of my need to control every situation.  Anyone with children knows that as a parent you have NO control.  I still make plans, and back-up plans, and back-up plans for the back-up plans, but I’m slowing learning to let go…a little.  And just roll with it.  They aren’t giving me any choice.

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on June 6, 2011, in Mother of the Year, Raising Boys and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

