The Power Of A Good To-Do List

I’m tired, exhausted, weary, droopy, flagging (I looked up “tired” on thesaurus.com)…I’m at the end of my rope…I just want to lay down and sleep…I don’t have that luxury.

It’s so bad (and apparently, I look so bad) that the first thing people ask  me is, “Are you all right?”  And the answer is, “Of course, I am.”  And I am.  Some moments are harder than others, but I’m fine.  Sure, there are moments I’d like to give in to self-pity…last night, I did.  But for my own sanity, I can’t stay in that place…I have to shrug off the crap and move forward.

The worst part (this week) has been the feeling of paralysis…I have so much going on – professionally and personally – that its impossible to know where to start.  It took an enormous effort each day just to figure out what to tackle – and then get it done at my usual pace.  But I did it, and its taken a toll.  Now I’m on my 138th wind of the day…

Then I did something very simple…it’s so simple that I don’t understand why I didn’t do it on Monday…before I left the office today,  I made a to-do list for next week.  Ok, so it’s two full pages and it looks overwhelming.  But when I get into the office on Monday and I start getting things done, I can cross each task off the list…and ta-da, a sense of accomplishment is born. No more paralysis…

So tomorrow (not tonight because I can barely keep my eyes open), I’ll make a to-do list for the house.  And slowly (verrrry slowly), I will cross things off the list.  I won’t try to do it all in one day…but I will achieve a sense of accomplishment – which is MUCH better than feeling stuck in one place.

I’m a single mom with little-to-no help from Almost Ex, so there’s not much I can do about the tired thing…but I won’t let myself be overwhelmed to the point of paralysis anymore…it’s too draining…it’s too time-consuming…it’s not worth it.  I won’t give in to self-pity even though it would be easy to do…I will keep doing what’s hard (but right)…I will move forward, do the best I can for my boys and my career, and get to the other side of this period in my life…because I don’t want to imagine the alternative.

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on June 10, 2011, in Thinking, Word Vomit and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

