An Unexpected Treat

I sort of got the night off tonight…Almost Ex picked up the boys late this afternoon.  Because he doesn’t plan anything (I was always the planner in our relationship), he couldn’t tell me how long he would have them. It frustrated me to no end…and then I reminded myself that some break is better than no break. 

Three glorious QUIET hours later, he called…and gave me a great surprise.  He was keeping Aidan for the evening but I needed to come get Sean.  Now, that sounds really bad, right?  Nope.  Aidan is getting a special treat from his dad – his first trip to the movies.  I’m pretty excited for him (and a little envious).  Sean would never have made it through the movie, so he’s with me tonight.  And since I consider him the “easy” one between them, this is a piece of cake.

Almost Ex kept asking why I looked so happy when I picked up Sean.  In my head, I’m like well, DUH, why do you think I look happy?! I’m on light duty tonight!  Aidan has pushed every button I have for two days straight.  I’m ready to ship him off somewhere…anywhere.  A night with his dad is a good place.

So what have I done with this relative freedom?  Well, my house doesn’t smell like dog anymore…it’s VERY clean.  And I’m online (as usual) working, blogging, Facebooking – a major addiction of mine…and I’m learning that there is not a DAMN thing on TV…no wonder I don’t mind watching Nick Jr all the time.  Extreme Couponing?  That is crazy shit…who needs 480 yogurts?! 

I have no clue how to handle quiet…I have the TV on, but I’m not watching it.  It’s just background noise…And I’m obviously not good at relaxing…I’ve got three things going on at once…but I definitely know how to appreciate a “sort of” night off!

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on June 18, 2011, in Independent Michaela, Moments in Life, Mother of the Year and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

