BBQ, Ice Cream, and Fireworks…Oh My

I don’t really have anything major to talk about today…but when I blog, I feel more connected to the world somehow…and as much fun (more so for Aidan than for anyone else) as today was, I need to feel connected…to something. 

I surprised myself the other day when I decided to take the trip down to Destin today.  In good traffic it’s an hour drive.  This is tourist season and the area is booming, so I knew it wasn’t going to be pretty.  But it was more important to me that Aidan get to see fireworks than the aggravation of bad traffic. Monday night is out of the question because 9pm fireworks don’t mix with a  4:45am (me) or 6am (them) wake up time on Tuesday. 

The traffic was HORRIBLE.  I’m not sure why the Florida Department of Transportation and the Mid Bay Bridge Authority ever thought that four lanes of traffic to get through the toll should squeeze into one lane for the bridge. Its a little scary when its the off-season.  Today was insane.  And that was after the hour I sat in traffic just trying to get TO the toll.  Aidan’s best line of the whole time we were stuck in traffic: “Mommy, we have to be done driving and start walking because my feet hurt!”  You sure about that, dude?

Sometimes I wonder what people are thinking when they see me with the boys…like tonight, when we got home from watching fireworks.  Both boys were asleep so I brought Sean in first.  When I put him down in the living room and went to get Aidan, he began screaming.  When I went back outside to get Aidan, Sean followed…crying and screaming, sounding rather pathetic, actually.  Our neighbors across the street were outside and stopped talking for a second when they heard him.  I couldn’t help but wonder if they were thinking, “Oh Lord, there’s that crazy woman and her rowdy kids” or if it was more along the lines of “that poor woman and her sad children”…OR if it was “Thank God that’s not me chasing after two boys!”  Somehow, I’m thinking that if they thought anything at all, it was the last one…

The night was good…I blew almost all my cash…mostly on Aidan – glow-in-the-dark things, the bouncey-house, a balloon parrot…and of course there was bbq and ice cream.  We waited 20 minutes for ice cream…and then the fireworks started.  I gave Aidan the option between getting ice cream or getting out of line and watching the fireworks…he chose ice cream.  We saw about 5 minutes of the fireworks…but that was ok because that’s all Sean could handle…did you know that feeding a toddler ice cream will get him to stop crying in fear over loud noises? 

I spent so much cash that I didn’t leave myself enough for the toll bridge back home…so we went the long way home…but we made it, and now they’re sacked out…and I’m the dork blogging about nothing at 11:00pm…

Aidan was happy with the adventure (once we got there)…Sean is so laid-back that all he cared about was his supply of apple juice…and I’m impressed with myself for making the trip…today was a good day.

 

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on July 2, 2011, in Moments in Life, Raising Boys, Random and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Sounds like a really good day!!!

Leave a Reply

