Divorce Cakes and Pet Names

So I read an article this afternoon about divorce parties and divorce cakes.  And I was a little horrified…a cake topper with the groom’s head cut off?  T-shirts that say B.I.G – The Bastard is Gone?  That seemed extreme to me…but the idea of a party was kind of cool.  And of course, I showed Eebee the article…her response? “Do you want me to get you a cake?” Ummmm…

Ok, I loooooooooooooove cake…and after some of what I’ve gone through, I probably deserve to party and celebrate…but it feels wrong…don’t worry, I’m still trying to re-frame it in my head so I can justify it to myself…

It felt wrong…until this evening.  I was picking up the boys from Almost Ex…the routine is that I have him put the boys in Bubba so he gets one more hug and good-bye before we leave…that, and it’s nice to have someone else do the heavy lifting for 3.2 seconds.  His phone rang…it was his girlfriend…and I have opinions about that, but not here. 

But the part that got me a little (as a woman, not a mom…other things pissed off the mom in me…) was that he answered her phone call the way he’s answered my phone calls for 12 years…and oh, by the way, still does!  It’s a certain way that (I thought) he only did with me, it’s a tone, a word…It’s something small and he probably doesn’t even realize it…but it ticked me off!

A divorce cake with an inappropriate topper sounds pretty good to me right now.

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on July 5, 2011, in Moments in Life, Random and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. yeah after my divorce i really really thought bout throwing a divorce party! It would’ve been nice though if he would’ve just ignored the call till after you guys left.

Leave a Reply

