The Idea Was Good…If Not the Execution….

I had an idea on the way home today…a small little glimmering idea…I almost talked myself out of it, actually…No, this won’t work, I thought…I should have listened to that little voice…

I really really wanted to feel normal for a night…whatever normal is…I really really wanted to eat at a restaurant where the kids meal doesn’t come with plastic crap…I really wanted to eat some good barbecue…I really wanted Ms. B’s BBQ and Bakery  (OMG, freaking delicious!)…but I really really really fooled myself into thinking two little boys who were tired from a long day would patiently wait for food if cake was promised at the end…

Normally, Ms. B’s is fast…not tonight…the waitress was slow…the food was slow…you would think that two whiny little boys would make them WANT to get me out of there a little faster…by the time the second table that arrived after us got their food, I was ready to sell Aidan to the gypsies…but I don’t blame him.  He was expressing exactly what I was thinking, “When is the foooooooooooooooooood gonna get heeeeeeeeeeeeeeere, Mooooooooooooooooooom.”

Imagine little gremlins at the table wreaking havoc – banging silverware, blowing raspberries on me, them, whatever, slurping drinks, whining…and then…food.  The heavens opened up and a chorus of “Hallelujah” could be heard across the land…finally, silence except for the sound of chewing.  I didn’t even care that I had to wait another five minutes for my food…

There was peace at booth #5.

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on July 6, 2011, in Mother of the Year, Raising Boys and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. lol i think i prolly would’ve been whining louder then them. Don’t worry they’ll get older(sadly in a blink in an eye) and a dinner out won’t be so hard. i PROMISE!

Leave a Reply

