Raising Boys #5

I am amazed by my children every single day…sometimes in a good way…and sometimes not so much…

Sean has his first favorite thing ever – Tom-ees de Tain (translation: Thomas the Train). He has found every one of Aidan’s old Thomas books and carries them around with him everywhere – including daycare.  He likes to brush his teeth because his toothbrush and toothpaste both have Thomas on them. What I hear most often is, “Tain, tain…tom-ees, tom-ees!”

Fights (such as they are) will break out if Aidan is playing with the Thomas train that’s been his since he was Sean’s age…Sean has pretty much claimed any and all train items in the house as his own…At least I know what his birthday theme will be this year. 

Aidan has started calling me “Mom,” and I don’t love it.  But since he also refers to Almost Ex as “Dad” at least I know I’m not the only one.  He’s in another name phase…the name-calling phase. “Idiot!” Excuse me?  That one is directed mainly at Sean when he gets in Aidan’s way.  He’s so used to casually calling names when he plays pretend and (apparently) at the Boys and Girls Club, that it slips out when he’s upset with me. 

And then his eyes get very wide, because he knows that I don’t tolerate it.  When he slipped and referred to me as “Buttface” tonight, he realized his problem immediately.  Sad to say, he was not a happy boy at bedtime – which ended up being about 30 seconds after the buttface comment.

He’s also into the “total honesty” phase.  “Hey Mom, that guy is sooooooooooooo fat!” You know, in the loudest voice ever!  And when he adds his little smartass twist to it, it’s even worse.  In Subway today, he pointed out people and called them skinny…even the extremely large people sitting about 2 feet away from us.  Oh Lord!  I had to shut that one down, too…

And then, he does the most amazing things that make me very proud.  So I could finish my dinner tonight, he stood at Sean’s highchair and helped Sean with his yogurt.  (Sean’s getting the spoon thing but slowly.)  He picked up toys that Sean had thrown all over the living room (for a sticker, of course). 

I have great boys.  I’m a proud Mama (oops, I mean Mom).

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on July 9, 2011, in Moments in Life, Raising Boys and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

