Work, Work, Work

Ok, I have to admit…I might be a workaholic…maybe…just a little…

It helps that I love my job…but even when I’ve worked jobs I hated, I was like this – just with more ‘tude about it.

No matter how busy I get or how crazy the workload might be, I feel an overwhelming sense of responsibility to get it all done…and at a high level…no slacking off for me! Even when I’m burned out, tired, and lacking “sizzle” (as someone recently pointed out – thanks Big Bro)…But that’s not really my point…

My BFF taught me (many, many years ago) the phrases “Work to live” and “Live to work”…I’m a “live to work” kind of girl…I like working, I like the sense accomplishment I have at the end of the day, week, whatever…I like getting better and better at what I do…I like being depended upon (on?)…yeah, I’m weird…

I think I need to figure out how to be a little less of a workaholic, though…I don’t want to lose opportunities in my 30s the way I lost them in my 20s…I need to learn how to play more…I’m learning how to be comfortable being alone (that’s going well)…I’m learning how to be more independent (which is awesome)…I guess this is another lesson to learn…

I’ll take any and all advice…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on July 23, 2011, in Independent Michaela, Thinking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

