Raising Boys #6

I love the way their eyes light up when I’m reading a book to them…I love the way they compete for who will get to sit closest to me…I even love it when Aidan whines, “No fair!” when I let Sean sit on my lap while Aidan is snuggled up as close as he can get to my side…

Sean wants to hear any story involving a train…but if I answered every, “A dat?” (What’s that), we’d still be reading the same book from this morning…Aidan doesn’t really have a preference in books when I’m reading…I think he just wants to be close…personally, I prefer Dr. Seuss books…I really get into those…I love the tempo and meter of Dr. Seuss…I love the made-up words…

***********

“Mom, can I help you clean?” Suuuuure!  Today I handed Aidan the mop, and he went to town…Was it the cleanest it’s ever been, hell no, but I wasn’t going to re-do it…he put his heart and soul into mopping that floor…but ask him to clean his room?  Forget it!

“I hep! I hep!” Sean took a little screwdriver to the back of the dryer while I was trying to finish up the repair job (I replaced the heating element today!!!) He was too precious! And I can’t help but wonder just how long this phase will last (Aidan never went through the helping stage.)

***********

I hurt for them when they ask for their dad…I just tell them he’s working…that’s probably the truth, because hell, I don’t know…everytime I drive past the park near the house, Sean yells, “Da-da! Da-da!” because he associates that park with Almost Ex…that’s where he takes them everytime he’s in town…

Aidan finally stopped asking if Almost Ex and I were going to live together again…but he tells me that he’s never moving out…and that if he moved out it would be because we don’t love each other anymore…I have to explain to him that it doesn’t work that way with moms and sons…I hope he understands by the time he’s 18…

************

I have to admit – they constantly amaze me.

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on July 24, 2011, in Raising Boys and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. My kids went through the same I’m not leaving home phase. Nathaniel is finally seeing ya know mom will be ok when he turns 18 in GULP 6 years!!! It just means you’re doing your job right and they know that you love them

  2. Confident Connections Counseling

    Divorce is so hard on children, and I imagine it must break your heart to see them struggle through the confusion of it all. Just reading your post I felt my heart sink. But you are really there for them supporting them, loving them, playing with them, cuddling with them, and doing your best to explain the situation to them in a way they can understand. What a great job you seem to be doing for them despite your own personal struggles during this time. You deserve to be congratulated and celebrated for your strengths and endurance.

Leave a Reply

