Patience Isn’t A Virtue I Possess

It’s hard for me to admit sometimes, but I am an extremely impatient person.  I want what I want when I want it.  Big Brother tells me all the time to just be patient and not try to rush things…Of course, I’m not alone in my unvirtuous (?) ways…I think I’ve only met a few truly patient people in my life…

My lack of patience can put me in a pretty crappy mood sometimes…but I’m pretty moody by nature…what I’ve noticed is that I have more patience when “it” – the goal, the thing, the…whatever – is completely out of my hands.

Example – I was chomping at the bit to get all my paperwork filed for the divorce and everytime I was delayed by something, I was thrown into a bad mood for a day or two…but once it was filed, done, and just became a waiting game, I was fine.  Well, sort of…I’m checking my mailbox pretty frequently these days…

Ok, another example that’s not quite so depressing?  I need to get my house fixed up before I can even start planning what I want to do with it…I need to paint, I need to re-do the carpets in the bedrooms, I need to do some trim work…nothing too major, but plenty of work…and I want it done YESTERDAY…I want to move forward with my plans…I don’t want to be delayed by the WORK…I don’t want to be delayed by lack of money and expertise…and last night, I was in a foul mood over it…

Oh well, that’s life, huh?  Today is a new day, and I have a brighter outlook on it all…for everything I want in life there are two options – roll up my sleeves and get to work or just be patient and wait…today is a day to get done what I can get done…and not worry about the things that can only be taken care of by time…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on August 6, 2011, in Moments in Life, Thinking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. You are an eloquent writer. I have never been introspective, and I admire your ability to self-analyze. I’ve also never been patient. It doesn’t have to be my idea, but once it’s in front of me I’m like a dog with a bone. I’ve been blessed most of my life with the ability to facilitate the removal of whatever is causing me to have to wait. I guess I also bulldoze my way through full speed, until I lose steam or interest. I don’t see you doing that. You sound like someone who will stick to whatever plan she has devised. You spend a lot of time thinking through your plans ahead of time, so you have contingencies in place. I’m both spontaneous and impatient, that can’t be a good combination. Good luck with your repairs. Sorry I can’t come help.

  2. I was just thinking how I need to paint and finish my yard but just wish it was DONE already!

  3. Yes Yes i HAVE to finish up the homeschool room tomorrow since i have to start school monday

Leave a Reply

