Girl Power

I talk about it a lot, but I’m still amazed at the things I can do on my own…

Today was a day for muscle-flexing…I have been so fed up with Aidan’s room lately…it’s not his fault – it’s no messier than any other 6 year old’s room (I hope)…but the walls are green…putting green, to be exact…Aidan adored green when he was 4…and I was overly indulgent…but it’s not just that, it’s his carpet. 

When Almost Ex and I bought the house, we knew we would need to replace the carpet – it’s original to the house (20 years!!)…I can’t get Aidan’s floor clean enough anymore…so this morning, I decided to rip up the carpet…which forces me to do something about the room…I can’t have an unfinished room…

At 9:00 a.m., I started ripping and pulling and tugging…and moving furniture…the carpet came up easily (it is 20 years old)…the padding was even easier…and yes, this might not be news to some, but I’ve never done this…the carpet tack (is that the word, I want?) was a little more challenging, but an hour later, it was done.

Hauling the carpet out was the worst, but by the time I got it to the curb, I was ready to beat my chest and do a touchdown dance in my front yard…Hell YEAH, I did that…I know, I know, it’s just carpet…but it started the whole day right…and reminded me that I am physically strong (ok, sort of)…I moved furniture, I moved carpet…and yeah, it would have been easier and faster with help, but who cares?!

I’m one of those annoying people who appreciates offers of help, but rarely accepts them…I feel like I need to be strong enough, independent enough, efficient and proficient enough, to handle everything on my own…it’s physically hard for me to ask for help or even accept it…so when I can prove to myself and the world that I am capable of doing something hard on my own, it’s very gratifying…it will also make me an absolute joy for some brave man one day…someone should start praying for that future mystery person now…

Today was a day for girl power…I don’t need no damn body!  I got this! (This is where I mentally beat my chest and grunt and all sorts of ridiculous things.) 

I think this is what I’m going for (at least for today):

 

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on August 7, 2011, in Independent Michaela and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m about to flex my independent mom muscles also. Despite aches and pains and getting a bit older, I love the satisfaction that comes with doing something myself. Good on ya mom! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

