Raising Boys #7

Someone called me a good mom today…and of course, I was flattered…I don’t know how good I am at it…but I do take it seriously.  Being the only caretaker, the only constant parent in their lives, isn’t easy and I know I get bogged down in bedtimes and routines sometimes.  Thankfully, they are sweet little boys who bring out my lighter side, too…

“Thomath! Thomath! I wan Thomath, Ma-ma!”  That would be Sean…who still adores Thomath Thomas. He has Thomas pajamas, Thomas books, a Thomas pillow, several Thomas trains…and being the sweet baby that he is, has managed to charm the daycare into playing a Thomas movie every single afternoon. I know what he’s getting for HIS birthday…

Aidan is my moody boy who forgets he’s 6 and thinks he’s grown some days.  The looks, the ‘tude, the whole thing…and I haven’t shipped him off anywhere yet, so we’re doing well.  And then there is today…

He was very upset when I made him wait in the car while I picked up Sean from daycare…it was raining like crazy, and I didn’t need all three of us to be soaked.  He was mad because he wanted to keep the umbrella (the Superman umbrella) over my head so I wouldn’t get wet…when I made it back to the car with Sean, he opened up his umbrella and held it over Sean’s head while I got him in the car.  While I was running around to get in, he opened up my door as I walked up…

I sometimes forget how happy they make me…until they act like silly little boys…when we’re dancing, singing, or making silly noises, I can’t help but laugh helplessly…this may seem a little strange, but sometimes I get the feeling that they’re trying to make me smile and laugh…if they are, it works.

I’m not sure how I managed to have two of the sweetest boys ever, but I’m not complaining…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on August 19, 2011, in Raising Boys and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

