Celebrating My Way

I never have been one to do things the way other people do them…I’ve noticed that about myself.  I have to take the hard road more often than not…if something seems too easy, I don’t trust it…sad but true…

So of course, I can’t even do the good things the way other people might do them…guess that’s what makes me unique (or something like that)…tonight I am sitting in my house with two small sleeping (thank GOD!) children, drinking a glass of wine, talking to friends and family on the phone and in Facebook, and truly celebrating my single-ness. 

I’m not celebrating the divorce…divorces are sad (so I’ve been told)…I’m celebrating a new chapter…a new beginning…and as always, I’m doing it my way…the day will come when I can let go the way I need and want to, until then, though, I will create my own happiness and my own memories in the only way I know how – my way.

I don’t know what the future holds…I don’t know if I’ll find “the one” or if I’ll be the crazy cat lady or if I’ll wind up a cougar (hopefully a hot one instead of a scary one)…I have no idea…and for the first time in my life, I’m sort of okay with that…it’s a new day…a blank slate…my future is unwritten and it’s up to me to fill the pages.

I care about my boys, my family, and my friends…I have no time or patience for…well, for bullshit…I’ll take genuine friendship over false relationships any day…if you want to celebrate with me, raise your glass…it is a new day in the life of Independent Michaela…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on August 20, 2011, in Independent Michaela, Moments in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. If worst come to worst we’ll be the founders of the “crazy ol cat lady club” but I don’t think that will happen! Have a glass of wine for me

Leave a Reply

