I Shall Call Him…Uncle Bert

I have this weird habit of naming the vehicles I drive…I haven’t always done it, but the last 3 all had names…

The Mercury Grand Marquis was Grandma…Grandma was cool – chrome trim, tinted windows…she was sweet…I lost her in the divorce (prior to it being finalized, in a dirty under-handed way)…karma being the bitch she is, Grandma stopped working a few weeks after The Ex started driving her…I only laughed a little…

The Ford Explorer is/was Bubba…Bubba was not-so-cool – literally, the AC stopped working less than a month ago…Bubba should never have been purchased…that was a fight I lost, and technically I was proven right about why he should have stayed on the lot, but that’s irrelevant…Bubba is my problem now…Bubba is rusted out on the bottom, chipping paint on the top, and blows mostly hot air…no offense to anybody out there named Bubba, but that perfectly describes all the Bubbas I’ve ever known…

This one is a Buick LeSabre…Mom #2 has a newer model LeSabre that she calls Grandpa…it’s definitely a male car…I consider this one Grandpa’s older brother…and I think he’s an Uncle Bert…Uncle Bert is a loaner…while I’m grateful to have reliable transportation again, I’m glad he’s only on loan…that means there’s light at the end of this automotive tunnel I’ve been in for several years…

I said the other day that I would tell the story about how I acquired Uncle Bert…all of my level-headed friends keep telling me that I should be grateful and not get emotional about it, and that’s probably true, but I can’t help it…this one just makes me sad…

Let me start out by saying I am probably the least religious person on the planet…I respect other people’s beliefs, even those that I don’t understand…but my beliefs and spirituality are my own business and I don’t discuss them with anyone…that being said, even I have to admit that God (or whatever you choose to follow) works in mysterious ways…

The Step is not my only newly extended family (I say newly extended but my mom has been married to him for nearly 7 years, so not that new)…his mother, a very sweet lady, is still alive and has loved my boys and been kind to me from the very beginning…she was even pleasant to The Ex…

About two weeks ago (closer to 3 now), she fell at home and broke her hip…she had hip replacement surgery and went to a rehab center to recover…during that time, she told my mom that she had been praying that I would get a new car and find a way to move closer to work (I’ve got a 45 minute commute – hence the need for a newer vehicle and new home)…

Several days ago, she had a stroke and then had brain surgery to stop the bleeding on her brain…while the doctor’s were doing a routine, post-op scan, they found what they believe to be cancer…because of her age and condition, they don’t recommend chemo and will just make her as comfortable as possible…are you crying yet? I know I am when I think too hard about it all…In the past few days, she’s come down with an infection that you only get in hospitals or nursing homes…not MRSA, but one like it…for her family to visit her in ICU, they have to wear a hazmat suit…Are you freaking kidding me?!

When I called The Step about Bubba the other day, he and his sister decided to loan me their mother’s car…and all I’ve been able to think is that this isn’t how her prayer should have been answered…isn’t there a Plan B we can utilize? The fact that this sweet little old lady ever prayed for me at all when she has a massive family that could also use some prayers is humbling…the fact that her prayer was answered (if you subscribe to that thinking) is even more humbling…I’ve never felt less worthy in my life…

So I will treat Uncle Bert with all the respect I can…and I will add my thoughts to those of everyone’s else for a speedy recovery for that wonderful woman…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on September 4, 2011, in Moments in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

