I Remember…

I never imagined that my generation would have an “I remember where I was…” moment in history.  Isn’t that just for our parents and grandparents?

But I remember where I was on September 11, 2001…I was driving to school/work and heard something on the radio about a plane crashing into the World Trade Center.  My original thought was that it was a joke of some sort…who ever heard of a plane crashing into a building like that?

When I got to campus, I stopped at the first TV I could find…and was both mesmerized and horrified…there it was…planes crashing into the Towers…people running, screaming, crying…it felt unreal, almost like I was watching a movie…I called The Ex (who was The Fiance at the time)…he had already heard from some of our friends…we were glued to the TV…I watched as the towers fell…and all I remember thinking was, “Oh my God, what about the people still inside?!” Watching people fling themselves from buildings was gut-wrenching

The college bookstore where I worked didn’t open, classes were cancelled, and nearly everyone on campus made their way to the Chapel…I’m not at all religious (and no, I don’t know how I managed to go to a Methodist college, either), but that was the most comforting place to be…

I cried when Peter Jennings cried on the news…I cried while watching the coverage…I shook my head in disbelief…

And now, 10 years later, Aidan is learning about it in school – as a history lesson, in rememberance of…and it’s surreal.  He knows to call them the Twin Towers…he knows that the bad guys hurt a lot of people…he knows that planes crashed into buildings…but, fortunately, he’ll never have to say he remembers where he was when it happened…

There were a lot of artists who put their talent to good use in the aftermath of 9/11…and most of them moved me to tears…but there is one in particular that still gives me goose bumps…by my nature, I don’t condone violence…I don’t believe in “an eye for an eye” or anything like that…but there are just some things that need to be said…and he did it best of them all:

 

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on September 11, 2011, in Moments in Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

