A Simple Concept

Nothing much to say (for once), but I figured I would share the revelation I had today…it made perfect sense once it finally dawned on me…

Ok, back-story first (because I’m an explainer, remember?)…as I’ve said a million times, I want what I want when I want it…just part of who I am…not a patient person…but as it often happens in life, I’ve been forced to be patient…

Anyway, I find out today that what I thought was going to happen, what I want to happen, what should happen…well, it might not happen…so I did what I’ve for my almost 32 years on the planet (like the not-so-subtle hint that it’s almost my birthday?)…I sulked. Yes, I admit it, I’m a sulker…

And that’s when it hit me…I’m the only one around, why sulk?  Who’s it for?  I’m certainly not getting any sympathy from my children who aren’t paying attention and could care less anyway…the person directly affected by my disappointment isn’t here to notice my sulking and cheer me up…

So, on this issue at least, I’m done sulking…because there’s no point…

Such a simple concept…and it only took almost 32 years to sink in…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on October 25, 2011, in Random and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Sulking is pathetic on a child, but really pathetic on a grownup. I always hate myself when I catch myself sulking. And yet it’s less dramatic than screaming, and your kids probably won’t end up in therapy over it.

    Good for you for stopping at 32. I hope you keep it up.

  2. I think we all have a tendency to get stuck in that sulking phase every now and then. But you’re right…. it doesn’t do any good… or change anything. It’s useless.. lol

Leave a Reply

