Brave, Lucky, or Just Stupid?

I don’t consider myself brave – I’m too cautious for that…and sometimes I just don’t think things through (even though I pride myself on being a planner)…

I realized as I was packing yesterday that I still had Sean’s crib and needed to do something with it before Saturday…how I just realized it is pretty amazing to me, I nearly walk into it every night…so I posted it on Craigslist…and had a message from someone wanting to buy it within 4 hours…

I’m fairly cautious (most of the time) so I knew that just because the person said their name was “Nancy” didn’t mean anything…I couldn’t really imagine someone trolling the Craigslist Baby section to find a victim, but you never know…so I made arrangements to call and speak to “Nancy” this afternoon…and then I forgot…

Around 6:30pm, I received a text message from “Nancy” asking if I still wanted to sell the crib…and without even thinking about it, I texted back that I was home, come on down and get it…”Nancy” texted back that she would call to get directions…the phone rang, and that was the most masculine “Nancy” I’ve ever spoken to in my life…and yet, without even thinking, I gave directions to the house…

After I got off the phone, I realized that I had invited what was clearly TWO men over to the house to pick up a crib that was stuck in Sean’s room…Damn it, I’m an idiot sometimes!

I spent 15 minutes feverishly yanking the crib, pulling it apart, and getting it outside so at the very least they wouldn’t have a reason to come in the house…in case they had indeed been looking for victims in the Baby section on Craigslist…

Of course, once I got it outside, I started thinking that might not matter…I could still be overpowered…it’s just me and 2 little boys…I thought about showing Aidan the 911 button on my cell phone, but immediately imagined him pushing that button for fun, so that was out…I had packed the baseball bat The Ex bought years ago(for some unknown reason) a few days ago, so that was out…I grabbed the boxcutter I’d been using while I was packing…worst-case scenario, they might still get me, but I’d get them too…

They arrived, and I faked confidence in my knife-wielding abilities…I kept it in my hand while I was gesturing to some of the pieces-parts of the crib…I kept it in my hand as I took the money from “Nancy”…I flipped the blade as I was telling them I had left another part in the house…like I just walk around with a boxcutter all the time…

I think I scared the crap out of them…

I’m sure they’re still talking about the crazy-lady with the boxcutter…

My heart rate finally slowed down a little about 15 minutes after they left…

And for my mother and aunt who both occasionally read this, yes, I will be more careful next time…and YES I know how lucky I was…the question is, do they know how lucky THEY were?

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on October 26, 2011, in Independent Michaela and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. You sound as neurotic as me! Thanks for sharing, I needed a laugh!

  2. I’ve done the same thing before and regretting it the whole time. It’s a scary world we live in and we have to be careful.

    I’m glad you got the crib sold though… that was quick! Yay…

  3. lol ok I totally would’ve done he same thing and yes that makes me neurotic!!! I’m wearing it proudly thank you very much

Leave a Reply

