It’s My Birthday

I have to keep reminding myself that it’s my birthday today…I don’t feel 32 (no clue whether I look 32 or not)…and it definitely doesn’t feel like my birthday…

I have run my ass off today…but that’s the way of things when you move…I didn’t unpack the first box today until 9pm…but I’m pretty sure I never sat down all day…

The only major low moment of the day was when I went back to the old house to clean it…I literally felt like I was carrying around an extra 20 lbs…I hated every second of the drive…I started grinding my teeth…I slouched and slumped…what a horrible feeling!  Have I been feeling this way since February?

I have so much still to do, but I feel light and airy in our new home…I love my bedroom…I love my kitchen…when I get it organized, I’m sure I’ll love my living room…is it new and bright and shiny? Hell no…but is it something fresh with unlimited possibilities for new memories? Hell yeah…

The sad part about today is if I hadn’t moved this weekend, I’d probably feel very depressed…every year I have this image of how my birthday should be, and it never happens…I don’t want parties or expensive gifts (ok, everyone wants expensive gifts…I mean that I don’t ask for or think about them)…I just want the day to be special…

I was spoiled as a kid – I was an only child, grandchild, great-grandchild, niece…when my birthday rolled around, it was a big deal – I was the only damn kid in the family…there was never anything lavish, but it was my special day…and to me, that’s normal…on your birthday, it’s supposed to be all about you…because I feel so strongly about that, I do that for my boys, too…

I promise you, there was little about today that was about me…breakfast was Waffle House, lunch was in the Play Place at McDonald’s, dinner was cold pizza (free, though) at a Fall Festival/Trunk or Treat event with the boys…in between, there was grocery shopping, cleaning, organizing, and running around like a crazy person…basically, today was a typical day…and I’m okay with that…

Today is the start of a new year in my life…31 was a rough, ROUGH year for me…32 can only get better…and this weekend has been a step in the right direction…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on October 30, 2011, in Independent Michaela, Moments in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. wow….32 now are we??? Wow what I do to the framework of 32 year olds… it’s a good year… you will recognize more of your qualities in the next 3 years than you ever thought possible….it’s going to be so much fun! So relax…drink a little wine and breathe… after next you you will be so focused on being “middle aged” that it’s not funny…just wait… I know women and this stuff happens…

    Happy birthday wonderful and amazing girl!

    T.

  1. Pingback: מו"מ לפירה ושניצל « אני נגד. ככה. הבלוג של זיו.

Leave a Reply

