Today, It Was All About Me

Since I’m unpacked, the house is clean, and I’m on vacation, I decided at least one day this week was going to be all about me…today was it.

I had a relatively decent conversation with The Ex today…on my very peaceful balcony…ahhh, bliss…well, the balcony, not the conversation…

I went to lunch with Mom #2 – I owed her from this weekend…she helped unpack the moving van on Saturday and she helped wrangle two small children during Trunk or Treat at her church on Sunday…

And then, I lost my mind a little…first it was the mani/pedi with navy blue polish (I really think in another life, I’d be some sort of rocker chick…)…then it was the stroll through Bath & Body Works for a new “flavor” as I like to call it (black amethyst for anyone curious)…and then it was the tattoo.

Yes, you read that right…I got a new tattoo…back in June, I said I wanted one…I thought I would get it after the divorce was finalized and it never worked out…it feels right that I was able to do it now when I’m at a fresh start in life…I’d rather the significance be attached to that instead of a crazy divorce…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Before you ask, it’s a scorpion…because I am Scorpio…in almost every single solitary sense…No, really, read this…except the bad stuff…ok, so even the bad stuff – but I have self-control, so I don’t let that side of myself out…

The whole day was a little strange for me…because other than lunch, I was by myself all day…and I was comfortable with it…I made random chit-chat with the guy who did the mani/pedi…and learned that having someone blow on my toes is a cool feeling…yeah, I know TMI, but I didn’t know that about myself until today…and before you sickos get all weird, he did it to dry some stuff he put on my feet…Geez!

I walked around the downtown area of Fort Walton Beach and loved it…I need to go back and try the cupcake place…mmmm, cupcakes…I looked out over the water – until the homeless man made a pass at me…then I quickly left…

I meandered through my day completely alone and in my own thoughts, doing my own thing…even when I got my tattoo…I had a couple of offers from people who were willing to be with me – but I would have had to wait…and I didn’t want to wait…today was a good day for it…and going in there by myself, sitting through the “discomfort” (oh hell, it’s pain, NOT discomfort) was me somehow proving something to myself…

I’m glad today (the first in a long, long, long, long, looooooooooooooong time) was about me…tomorrow, can be about someone else…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on November 2, 2011, in Independent Michaela and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Oh my goodnes I am soooooooo beyond proud of you!!! Like I’m jumping up and down excited for your day for you!

    I’m so itching to get another tattoo. I want to get a pear for my last name…and no my last name is not pear lol

  2. I LOVE the tattoo. I want one so bad but I’m a big fat chicken.

    And yay for having a day for you…. I’m sure it was much needed, and definintely MUCH deserved!

Leave a Reply

