Too Much Down Time

I’ve been begging for down time (mentally begging) for ages now…I’ve wished for it…I’ve coveted it…I’ve dreamed about it…until I got it…and what I never saw coming was that I don’t do well with too much time on my hands and not enough to do…

I guess it goes back to being able to live in my head a lot of the time…with too much time to myself, I naturally drift back there…and I was unprepared for how it hit me today…

I’m still not good with the whole alone thing…pretty sad for someone who purposely chooses not to have a large group of friends…I really didn’t feel like running around today…I wanted to be by myself…but I think it was the worst thing I could have done…a quiet, dark house with nothing to do (other than 2 loads of laundry and a load of dishes), and I was in a low mood all day…just ask BBFF, he’ll tell you I was no picnic…

It’s probably not healthy, but I think I need to keep myself busy…I need to have something to focus on…I need to keep my mind busy and working towards something…

So that’s what I’m looking for…the next thing to keep myself occupied, busy…

On the bright side, I actually enjoyed some time with the boys tonight and am looking forward to the weekend with them (ask me on Sunday if I still feel this way, though)…I’ve had a much needed break from them, and it’s brought back a little of my patience…Aidan and I had a tickle war tonight…normally I hate to be tickled…Sean was so sleepy, he let me cuddle with him, which was sweet and something I’ve missed lately…

So today I learned that I’m not good with too much down time…hopefully I’ll fill it up in a less insane way then the way it’s been filled in the last year or so…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on November 4, 2011, in Random, Thinking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Even though we are BUSY AS HELL over here, I know how you feel. Sometimes ‘down time’ can be, well, overwhelming in many ways. One thing that I do is accept it for what it is; down time. Listen to music, relax, take a nap, read a book, research (and take up) a new hobby, watch a movie that you’ve been meaning to watch, or BLOG! :). Beating up down time for what it is will drive you batty. If you feel that you should ‘add more’ to your life, go for it!

    I like coffee and reading blogs when I’m chillin’. Best of luck with the ‘down time management’! 🙂

Leave a Reply

