This Should Be Simple

Girl meets boy, girl likes boy, boy is not dumb, and they live happily ever after. That’s how its supposed to work, right?

That would be way too simple for me…

Let’s try this instead: Girl meets boy, marries boy, has boy’s children, and divorces boy. Five minutes later, girl meets man, likes man, and is immediately confused as hell. Yep, that sums it up.

I don’t know what the rules are for this new world I’m in…and most likely the answer is that there are no rules…but at what point do I listen to my heart and at what point do I listen to my head? And which one gets the deciding vote?

I’ve heard that second marriages have some ungodly divorce rate…and whenever the day comes that I decide to marry again, I am NOT going through another divorce…oh hell no. But what timeline am I supposed to be on? And am I even qualified to know if what I’m feeling is real or if it’s wishful thinking or loneliness?

My gut says that its real, but 12 years ago, my gut thought I would be with The Ex forever, too…

Shouldn’t this be simple?

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on November 10, 2011, in Independent Michaela, Random, Thinking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. There is no timeline I’ve learned. You just have to take the time to listen to your heart AND your head.

  2. I dated my first husband for 5 years and lived together for 3. We were married for less than two years. I knew my current husband for less than 8 months and dated for only 4 months before we were married. We’ve been married 5+ years now. So there’s no timeline that I can give you that makes sense. But I do suggest this advice. Follow whatever your heart desires—-but learn from your past mistakes and if the relationship starts showing ANY signs of being not good for you- get out, and walk away without ever looking back. Don’t fall in the same pattern of making excuses or rationalizing behavior.
    Hope that helps & that you find the happiness that is the right one for you!

  3. I wish it was simple. Unfortunately, it’s not.

    #1. Never say never. It will bite you in the ass.

    #2. You have to trust yourself and do your best to make the best decisions. Sometimes, we make good decisions, and sometimes they’re bad… that’s just life.

Leave a Reply

