The Continuing Adventures of the Benjamin Boys

Aidan: “Aw dang it.  I swallowed my tooth.”

He said it so matter-of-factly, as if he was telling me the sky was blue or the sun was yellow.  And then he turned and a dawning look of horror came into his eyes.

“The Tooth Fairy!?!?” His eyes welled up, and the familiar whine that is Aidan’s cry started.  Aw crap.  We have to get ready to go.  I still have to get Sean ready.  There is NO crying today!

“Aidan, I promise. I swear.  Cross my heart and hope to die.  The Tooth Fairy WILL come tonight.”

“How do you know?”

“I will call the Tooth Fairy and let her know about your tooth. I might have to leave a voicemail, but I will let her know.”

I needed him to get dressed, eat breakfast, and get to the car.  I was willing to say ANYTHING to convince him that the Tooth Fairy would come tonight.  Why did I go into so much detail with him?  It’s the downside of having a really smart kid.

*****

Aidan: “So you’re coming to Muffins with Mom today, right?”

Me: “I’m going to try.”

A couple of hours later, I arrive.  It took a few minutes before Aidan met up with me in the cafeteria, but he was a happy, snaggle-toothed little boy.

“Mommy, mommy, let’s get our muffin and juice!” Mommy?  He hasn’t called me that in ages.

When we were done, I walked him to his class.  He looked at me, and we knew what the other was thinking – the goodbye hug.  He looked at me.  He looked at his friends.  He looked at me.  He looked at his friends.  He walked to his friends.  Yep, it’s happened.  Too cool to hug mom in front of his friends…I knew this day would come.  Dammit.

*****

Sean: “Mom! We watch Thomath?”

Me: “Yes, Sean-Sean, we can watch Thomath, I mean Thomas.”

Sean: “Awesome!”

Why is the baby calling me Mom?  He’s only 2!  And where did he learn the word “awesome?”

*****

Sean: “I see you! I seeeeeee you!”

He’s under the dinner table, bored with his nuggets, wanting to play.  Every time I look at him, he giggles.  Every time I ignore him for more than 30 seconds, he whines.

Sean: “Kiss me! Kiss my head! Kiss my nosth! Kiss my teeth!”

Ok, dude, even I have my limits.  I am NOT kissing your teeth.  Even if you weren’t drooling all over the place I wouldn’t do it.

*****

Six days away from them, and I think they grew in that time.  They look a little different.  They seem a little smarter.  Sean has an exploding vocabulary which is much different than Aidan at that age.  Aidan is reading almost anything he sees – even words that I don’t think he should be able to read yet.  They are my amazing Benjamin boys…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on November 17, 2011, in Raising Boys and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Me and the tooth fairy are on a strict texting plan. Everytime I move or a kid loses a tooth I have to text her to let her know what’s up!

  2. Awwww. Precious stories! I love the things kids come up.

    Reminds me of a story about my son.

    It was around Christmas time and we were riding in the car listening to Christmas tunes. My son was three or four I’m guessing at the time. The song “Santa Clause is coming to town” was playing on the radio. All of a sudden… my son started crying in the back seat. I asked him what was wrong, and he said “Santa’s not going to come to our house cause he’s going to town”

    Poor kid.

Leave a Reply

