Winning the Battle…What About the War?

Is there something in the air…or the water? My children seem to have lost their freaking minds…and nearly everyone I’ve talked to with children is saying the same thing…

One moment Aidan is the sweetest little boy ever…asking me to paint my nails red because that’s his favorite color (I did)…teaching his brother a song about choices – a song he learned in school today…and the next moment, he seems to be possessed by a demon child who only wants to throw things and kick me…

I can’t tolerate that behavior, because he can’t grow up thinking it’s okay to act that way…but I don’t have that big scary voice that stops kids in their tracks…I don’t have “The Look” like my dad did…Aidan has no healthy respectful fear of me…so I have to be very specific and never waver…

I swear it’s like going into battle…when Aidan says, “No, I’m not [fill in the blank],” I have no choice but to make him. He’s squirmy, he’s strong, and he’s as determined as I am. Tonight, I had to carry him upstairs (stairs I’ve fallen down twice now – sad but true) while he screamed and flailed…I had to force his clothes off of him…and finally, he decided to give up the fight and get into the bathtub…by the end of the bath, he was back to his normal self, albeit disappointed at going to bed early…

What do I do when he gets too big to make him do what I want? We talk about choices a lot…We talk about consequences…yeah, I know he’s 6, but if I don’t do it now, what will he become? I’m winning the battles (barely) but how the hell do I win the war?

And what about poor Sean? He wants to be just like Big Brudder…that’s fine when he’s mimicking the well-behaved version of Aidan…it’s pretty crappy when he’s telling me “No” for no reason except thats what Brudder does…

The past few days have been frustrating…hopefully tomorrow will be better…maybe they’ll let me rest a bit before we have to meet for battle again…I need to get the dents out of my armor first…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on November 21, 2011, in Mother of the Year, Raising Boys and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

