The Amazing Power of New Sheets

For the first time in months, I looked forward to going to bed last night…and I look forward to doing it again tonight…and NOT for the reason some might think…there’s no one waiting to warm it for me…

I bought myself new bedding last week…my first Christmas present to myself in 10 or more years…and the first sheets, comforter, pillows, you name it that I didn’t have to ask someone else’s opinion on…and it is quintessentially me…pretty pillows, embroidered flowers, a pretty blue-green color…I didn’t even know it was a “me” thing until I saw it on the bed and until I crawled into bed last night…

Pure bliss…soft sheets that I have never shared with The Ex…I chose it, I paid for it, it is mine…it is me…

And yet…I’m fighting a bout of insomnia…I can’t shut my mind off at night…when I do fall asleep, I wake up throughout the night and stay awake…

My sheets are pretty amazing but not THAT amazing, I guess…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on November 30, 2011, in Independent Michaela, Random, Thinking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I bought my first pair of ME sheets and comforter last year and OMGoodness!!!! I love it(not that I’m using it now) but yet lots of pretty blue,purple,orange and even a magenta that blends together with a paisley and butterfly print. So So So so pretty!!!!

    I remember when I first separated from the kid’s dad and got to buy the shower curtain of my choice! No one else to say really? yup I bought big ol polka dots in bright colors and absolutely loved it!

Leave a Reply

