Christmas Spirit…Sort Of…

I lost my weekend “off” for this weekend…I had the pity party on Thursday, sucked it up on Friday, and made the best of it both yesterday and today…like everything in my life, it was actually for the best…Looking at my crazy schedule for the next several weeks, this really was the best weekend to get everyone geared up for Christmas…

In another first, I had to figure out the tree situation this year…last year, The Ex and I retired our sad hand-me-down 4 foot artificial tree we’d been using for nearly 10 years (and it was several years old by the time we got it) and went to a live tree…I really wanted a live tree again this year, but couldn’t figure out how I was going to make it work logistically…someone probably could have tied it to the truck for me, but were they also going to come home with me, help me unload it, get it into the house, and then put it on the tree stand? Yeah, probably not…and I know friends would have helped, but I get tired of asking for help all the time…

So we went artificial…but I got a pretty good deal…Dollar General, 6 foot, white (I let Aidan choose the color) noble fir – only $25…yeah, can’t beat that…not pre-lit, but since we bought lights last year, I didn’t think it was necessary…I was wrong…

Here’s the thing…The Ex and I had gotten into that normal thing of some jobs were mine because I was the girl, and some were his because he was the boy…Christmas tree lights were his job…oh holy hell, those were aggravating…first I strung them up backwards, so my plug was at the TOP…yeah, I admit it…but just draping them evenly around the tree was a pain the ass…I promise I wasn’t feeling the Christmas spirit…

A naked artificial tree is an ugly thing…and for 5 minutes, very depressing, as I remembered last year, with the very real, very pretty tree…but, I forced myself to stop that line of thinking, because the boys could care less…they just wanted the tree up with the ornaments…by the they were done helping, it really was nice looking…

I took the boys to see Santa on Saturday…Aidan, who used to scream at the sight of anyone in costume, went right up to him and started talking…my little social butterfly…Sean refused to even look at him…It was strange to do the Santa thing with no extra person to wrangle little children, but for once, no biggie…

I’m realizing that as long as I focus on the boys for Christmas, its almost easy…That’s probably a big ole duh, right? I never said I was very bright…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on December 4, 2011, in Moments in Life, Raising Boys, Thinking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

