A Taste of Freedom

I don’t consider myself a materialistic person…sure, I like nice things…but I don’t value things over people…and yet, a nice and reliable vehicle is something I would kill to have…

For one amazing weekend, I have the opportunity to drive a decent car…Bubba is such a crappy vehicle that I can barely trust it to get me to work and the boys to daycare and school…so when I needed to get the boys to my mom’s this weekend, my only good choice was to rent a vehicle…thank goodness for the $9.99 special from Enterprise…

It’s a Mazda 3…it’s not the top of the line, it doesn’t even have power locks…you know what? Who cares about power locks when there are so many other things to need…like good gas mileage…and good brakes…and the ability to turn the steering wheel without pulling a muscle…and the lack of fear about the newest noise that sounds bad…

And there are the intangibles…feeling good about driving it…not feeling like I could tip over if I turn too sharp…not being afraid of slick roads…feeling pride in driving something nice…

I’ve gained a reputation for being an extremely cautious driver…you would be too if you felt unsafe in your car…and if you had to constantly worry about gas mileage…I learned a long time ago that if I slow down to 60 in a 65, I could save a ton of gas…I know some people feel safer in big vehicles…not me…give me a small car…please…

I had forgotten about my love of driving…in all these months (years if I count the last couple with my beloved Grand Am), of worrying about the condition of whatever car I was driving or the gas mileage it gets, I forgot that I enjoy driving…

No one ever really understood that I didn’t mind the 45 minute drive to work…when I was still married, it was my time to think…it was my time to jam out to good music and unwind…once I became single, I had to worry about the time and distance from the boys…don’t get me wrong, I needed to move…but I miss the drive on the open road…

I love getting on the highway, blasting the radio, and driving a few hours to get to my mom’s or wherever…driving represents freedom to me…the freedom to come and go as I please…to get a destination in mind and just go…and this weekend I’ve gotten a little taste of that freedom…I’m thoroughly enjoying it…and dreading giving it up on Monday…and wishing I could buy something like it, and take one less thing off my pile…

I sort of have this mental list of stressors that have to be dealt with…I ended a bad marriage, check…I moved closer to work and out of a house with bad ju-ju, check…reliable, gas-friendly car that lets me come and go as I please and that I’m proud to claim, notsomuch…additional income so I don’t feel like I’m choking everyday, no lightbulb moments yet…

But this weekend, I get my freedom back…I just hope I can handle letting it go again on Monday…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on December 10, 2011, in Independent Michaela, Random and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’m the same way when it comes to driving!!! I used to love to pile the kids into the car at like 3 am to make the 6 hour treck to my parents and drive while it was still dark then watch the sun come up over the Arizona dessert.

    I have a pretty good car but it does not fit all 8 of us only the 5 of us so yes at some point we’re gonna have to do something different!

Leave a Reply

