Feeling Independent?

I’m not sure about the safety of blogging while drinking wine, so this may be interesting…or not…

It has been a while since I have mentioned the new things that come with divorce…there was the treadmill episode (got it home and in the house myself)…there was the carpet episode (ripped it out and hauled it to the curb myself)…but I don’t think there’s been much more…until today…

Today, I hung pictures – complete with tape measure and pencil to make sure it was even and equidistant…in 12 years, I managed to learn ONE thing from The Ex – picture hanging…

And, I changed out the shower head in my bathroom…I’m sorry, but that counts as plumbing!!

Full disclosure, one piece of the shower head is stuck in my wrench because I can’t get the wrench to release…banging it on the counter didn’t help…and the hammer I used for the pictures? Aidan’s toy hammer because the only tool I have is the aforementioned wrench…

Before you lecture me, I had tools at one point, but I think they travelled to MS in the move…MS with The Step…

So while I felt independent for about 30 seconds, even I had to shake my head at the absurdity of the circumstances…I would never consider myself a girly-girl, but I’m definitely no tomboy, either…just a single woman doing her best with the “tools” at hand…and getting the job done – because that’s all that really matters, right?

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on December 11, 2011, in Independent Michaela and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

