Clear Your Mind…

I firmly believe that the mind can only deal with one major issue at a time…well, it can only deal well with one thing at a time…have you ever noticed that once one stressor is dealt with, another begins to weigh more heavily? It happens to me a lot…

I spent so many years stressed about finances, I didn’t deal with a crumbling marriage…once I corrected the money issue (by working a second job), I had room to think about my marriage…and deal with it…

That principle works for everyday life…my biggest project at work each year just finished Saturday night…it’s an all-consuming event that stretches me to my physical and mental limits…now that it’s over, my mind is calm and has room for other stuff…you would think that it might be work-related, right? Nope, the mind doesn’t work that simply…

Today, while sitting at home with a not-sick Sean (thanks to a cautious daycare), I finally had time and space to deal with the fact that I am very tired of living off of drive thru…which is code for “I don’t feel like I have time to cook.” A casual observer would never know this, but I own about 10 cookbooks, and a million years ago, I cooked all the time…my big, elaborate, use every pot, meals were on the weekends, but I cooked nearly every day…

Because I feel pressed for time from the moment I leave work until the moment the boys go to bed, I don’t feel like there’s time to cook…big cop out, I know…and I haven’t had the mental energy or space to deal with it until now…

The plan? The crockpot…yeah, I hear the big “Duh!” from everyone…I have one cookbook that is filled with nothing but crockpot recipes…and I know there are a ton of recipes online…cooking is the only place I’m still “old school.” Give me an actual cookbook, please…with pages to turn…and food stains on old recipes…

I keep trying to convince my mom of the idea that clearing your mind of one issue frees you for new ideas, plans, and goals…I really want her to retire from her current job…she works for a great big box retail company, but after about 26 years, no woman in her 50s should have to work 12 hour days when she’d rather spend that time with her family…she’s fortunate enough to have a fairly secure future in retirement because she’s been smart for the past 20 years…

But her fear is of not knowing what to do next…I keep telling her that once she doesn’t have to worry about waking up at 3 in the morning, working 12 hour days on her feet, dealing with cranky customers, blah blah blah, she’ll have room to figure out what to do next…knowing her, she’ll be working until she’s 80…but I firmly believe she deserves to do something that allows her to live the life she wants…after all these years, she deserves it…

Clear your mind, and you never know what will fill the space…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on December 12, 2011, in Moments in Life, Random, Thinking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. ooooh wonderful lady…i so love the crock pot…stick in the food and go to work and presto, it’s ready to chow! Meh…I’m lazy or over worked myself every once in a while I’m simply need time to just grab a meal and go, but doing it in a fast food setting is terrible for you, so choosing something like modern crock pots with thier linable inner section for easy cleanup makes living like a dude a snap!

    I hope life is going well for you..have missed hearing from you but I’m always peeking at your words and how your life is grooving!

    T.

Leave a Reply

