I Am The Mom…

I was inspired to compile the following list after reading a few of my own Facebook posts about the boys…apparently, I’m developing quite a following of people who think the things I post about the boys are interesting…hmmm, ok..

I am the mom who will watch, dispassionately, as my child rolls on the floor screaming – even in public.

I am the mom who growls right back at the 2 year old who is learning what his voice can do – again even in public.

I am the mom who doesn’t have a problem with snacking before dinner – anything to keep the whining to a minimum while I cook dinner.

I am the mom who does NOT fight with my picky eater about his food choices – because no one wins that fight.

I am the mom who will let one of my children cry himself to sleep without an ounce of guilt.

I am the mom who enforces a strict bedtime for both boys – both for my own sanity AND their need for rest.

I am the mom who avoids the call from the daycare because I don’t want to be told I need to come get a sick child.

I am the mom who posts nearly every funny thing my children say and do to Facebook – because I have to tell SOMEBODY and because it will be great blackmail in a few years.

I am the mom who always forgets to take pictures of the big moments, the sweet moments, and the precious moments – but I never fail to get a picture of them sleeping.

I am the mom who offers the TV when the noise gets to be too much – early and often.

I am the mom who will let a child leave the house with no coat on in cold weather – that way, I win the argument about wearing a coat in cold weather the rest of the winter.

I am the mom who refuses to buy the Nintendo DS, cell phone, and any other gadget for a 6 year old – but I will buy a new pack of crayons, markers, or paper with my last dollar.

I am the mom who will physically pick up a screaming, thrashing child to make the point that you will do what I tell you to do.

I am the mom who freaks out just a little when both boys notice they have the same bits and pieces during bathtime – and begin to compare.

I am the mom who secretly smiles when the boys sing to Katy Perry, Black Eyed Peas, Taio Cruz, Lady Gaga, Rihanna, and anything else on the radio.

I am the mom who thinks cereal for dinner is a fine idea – Poptarts for dinner is sometimes ok, too.

So, I’m not winning Mother of the Year anytime soon…awards are over-rated anyway…I’m just trying to make sure they survive childhood and that I survive parenthood.

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on December 14, 2011, in Mother of the Year and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much.

    Love writing? We would love for you to join us!

    Writers Wanted

  2. Absolultey you would win mother of the year because….you’re doing everything you can to raise those boys and be happy AND healthy about it!!!Love you!!!!

Leave a Reply

