A Good Christmas

I didn’t know what to expect today…another first has come and gone, and there were enough perfect moments that it’s almost impossible to focus on anything negative…now that’s a good day…

I barely slept last night…could it be because I was anticipating Christmas? Or because I was sleeping on the couch (I always give my mom and The Step my bed when they visit)? Or because it was yet another first and I had to deal with it? Probably all three…

My mom was up at 6:30 this morning starting the turkey…I think Aidan was up about 30 seconds later…as excited as he was to see his presents from Santa, he still managed to show patience most adults don’t have and let everyone wake up first…

Opening presents, eating candy, taking pictures – our Christmas was probably pretty typical for most people…my mom and I cooked Christmas dinner together which was nice…the fact that we both made it work in my small kitchen was the Christmas miracle, I think…the food was delicious…that woman knows how to bake a freaking turkey…if my dad had a grave, he’d be rolling in it with laughter, because he and I were the ones to suffer through her experiments 20 years ago when she didn’t have a clue how to boil water..

I was surprised (and a little sad) that the boys didn’t ask about The Ex…I’m hoping it was because of the excitement of the day…my fear is that they’re getting used to him not being around as much…I didn’t exclude him, but he and the ‘rents don’t see eye-to-eye on much, so he chose to see the boys tomorrow…

I spent a lot of time last night thinking about how much life has changed in the past year…and I keep wondering how much more it will change in the next year, but that’s a post for another day…

This Christmas, with it’s familiarities and differences from years past, was a good day…and really, that’s all that matters right now…

A small gift I received this year hit me like a ton of bricks and, to me, epitomizes this new life we have:

20111225-202850.jpg

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on December 25, 2011, in Joy, Moments in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Awwww I love the new gift and weren’t we just talking about something kinda like that? sounds like a wonderful Christmas M!Love to you and the boys

Leave a Reply

