What Will 2012 Bring?

It’s rare that I procrastinate on writing my own blog…pretty silly, right, since I control when and what I write? I knew I was going to write about my goals for 2012…except…I’m not sure what they are…

To be sure, I want to be healthier and lose weight…and earning more money is always a good thing…I want to love and be loved, even if it’s not the kind that lasts forever…

But I’ve come to a realization over the past several months…real, long-lasting, unstressful change happens in increments, inch by inch, slowly…at a snail’s pace…so saying that I want a specific event to occur within 365 days seems false…

The change that happens quickly and causes the biggest shake-ups in life are, in my experience, largely unplanned and very stressful…so why would I make a goal of making a bajillion more dollars or losing 50 pounds (I only need to lose 30), when I can’t predict the type of change that would have to occur to reach those goals?

So my plan for 2012 is this…I will make sure I don’t let opportunities that allow me to achieve the big bad goals slip by…I will be on the alert for those moments in life, no matter how small, that can help propel me towards what I ultimately want…I will be diligent in doing the small things that will move me inch by inch towards the life I want…

Oh, and for those people need something more concrete, this is for you:

I will walk a half marathon in 2012.
I will blog in other arenas and with more purpose.

Happy New Year!

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on January 1, 2012, in Independent Michaela, Thinking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

