Unplugged

I unintentionally unplugged this weekend…I just didn’t feel like it…I was so low energy all weekend…I spent the time in my head…it was the only way to block out Sean’s temper tantrums…

Two is terrible and six sucks…that’s my take on the attitudes of my children at this stage…

Anyway, I barely talked to anyone…I didn’t Facebook the escapades of my children…I didn’t blog…I didn’t tweet…almost nothing all weekend…

Even though it wasn’t his weekend with the boys (and he’s about to spend 5 days with them while I go out of town), I asked The Ex to come get the boys on Sunday…I couldn’t handle one more moment of crying, screaming, or whining…

The Ex made a promise to me (that surprised me) that he would help me in anyway he could…I decided to see if he meant it…I felt like I was going crazy…I needed relief, even though I didn’t think I deserved it…

And with my four precious hours of freedom, I cleaned, I straightened, I cooked dinner, and then I read…I lost myself in a book…not in people-watching on Facebook, not waiting for a random text…I just read a book…and it was awesome…I was calmer…I was less stressed…I will still a little lost in my head, but it didn’t seem so bad…

It was unintentional…it was necessary…I should unplug more often…and I should definitely read more often…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on January 9, 2012, in Thinking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’m glad you got a break! Somedays are just extra extra tough and it sucks!

Leave a Reply

