A Little Bit of Balance

I have been in an amazingly wonderful mood all day…and five minutes before I sat down to write this, Aidan had me so angry that my head actually throbbed at the temples…I laid down the law, won the battle, and then took several deep breaths…I didn’t want to lose the good feeling any sooner than I had to…

And I expect the way I feel today to fade…unfortunately…

I had a trifecta of what I needed this weekend…time with my family in MS…the comfort of a reliable vehicle…and an hour with BBFF (which wasn’t enough time, but I was grateful for it)…

My YY came to visit this weekend…we rented a car and drove to MS to see my mom and The Step…we sped down the highway, talking and laughing…the boys and I were so excited to finally be heading toward MS – for the first time in months and months…

Aidan tore out of the car before I got it in park and ran to his Grandma…screaming for her…Sean laughed and laughed…they walked in the house and immediately started playing and asking for surprises from my mom (she’s trained them well)…

I found myself playing on the floor with Sean…laughing and rough-housing with both boys throughout the day…feeling genuinely happy…

20120122-203848.jpg

See? That’s the first picture taken of the three of us in a long time…and it’s my new favorite…

Driving to visit BBFF (who is recovering from surgery), I was a bundle of nerves…but as usual, the moment I saw him, I was relaxed and centered…I felt normal for the first time in a while…oh, maybe a month or so…we talked, I tried to fuss over him (he wouldn’t let me), and I left smiling and feeling at peace with the world…

I know the good feelings will fade as reality sets back in…I still drive Bubba (who I hate irrationally), I can’t get to MS for a few reasons, and it could be at least another month before I see BBFF again…but I’m going to savor this feeling of peace and balance for as long as I can…hopefully, I can be productive and make good use of how I’m feeling…before it slips away.

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on January 22, 2012, in Joy, Moments in Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’m so happy for you that you got a great weekend away!And I love that pic too!try not to let Aiden’s behavior affect you too much….yeah yeah yeah I know easier said then done!

Leave a Reply

