Passion, Love, and Changing Priorities

I love what I do for a living…I tend to feel silly admitting that because it’s not something people say much…I’m not just grateful to be employed (even though I’m damn grateful for that)…I don’t just like my co-workers…it’s not just a good organization (and it is definitely that)…I genuinely love what I do…

I never understood what finding your passion meant until March 2010…on paper I’m called a Communications Director…technically it means I do public relations, marketing, advertising, blah blah blah…in actuality it means I talk for a living…I am constantly finding new ways to communicate information so people will pay attention, take action, care about what I’m telling them…and I. Love. It.

And while there are both good and bad days in any job, everyday I am disgustingly happy to have the job that I do, and I am constantly looking for ways to improve and do more…ok, so saying all of that really does have a purpose…

In the past year or so, maybe a little longer, I have thought a lot about volunteering, giving back to my community…my concerns are always the time issue…do I have time to go somewhere and do something, especially with extremely limited access to after hours childcare? I also shy away from things that require a lot of interaction with crowds…I am capable of doing things that require that, but only once I’m comfortable and feel knowledgeable…but it’s been on my mind a lot…

I need to do something that makes me focus on something other than me…it’s easy for me to forget that there are people out in the world who have it so much worse than I do…selfishly, I also want to do more of what I love, because I love it, because it can make a difference, irrespective of pay…

I walked right into an amazing opportunity today…while sitting through a presentation about the local Guardian Ad Litem program, a two minute PSA video had me close to tears…I don’t cry in front of people I don’t know (hell, I barely cry in front of people I do know…)…but the idea of working with children, even for a worthy cause, didn’t excite me…so, during a momentary break, I asked something that may change my life forever…I asked about other opportunities to help…I described what I do for a living, my passion for it…

Have you ever seen a priceless opportunity right in front of you and known you can’t let it pass by, no matter what, no matter how scary? Yeah, me too…the response I received to my inquiry was that they may have the perfect thing for me…Chair of Public Relations for two counties…working with a Vice President for the non-profit…wait, what? Ummm, are you sure??

Part of me thinks they aren’t really serious, that someone with more experience than I have will step up and do the job “right.” Part of me thinks I’ll wake up tomorrow and this will have been a dream…but every fiber of my being hopes that this is really real, that I can do something, even in a small way, that helps this organization meet their ultimate goal – helping children.

Doing what I love, what I’m passionate about, for someone other than myself, to make a difference in the world, to be a part of something bigger…yeah, I think I can handle that…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on January 24, 2012, in Independent Michaela, Joy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Not only do I think they were serious, but I think that they would be genuinely thankful to have someone of your immense skill and ability help them with their cause. I think you are an amazing woman and I am so glad you found something so worthwhile where you can use your gifts and your passion!

    • Wow, thanks…Because I know how much more I need to learn in my job, it’s hard to believe that someone will benefit from what I do outside of the Realtor world…but I am definitely excited and will absolutely give them 110%…

Leave a Reply

