Perception Is Reality? For Who?

I am sick and tired of the expression, “Perception is reality.” The only time anyone seems to use it is when they’re directing the saying to someone (usually me) who questions why a person or group of people did not logically think through something and instead jumped to conclusions, WRONG conclusions…

I don’t think all of my perceptions and assumptions are true…for the most part I assume that they aren’t…I am constantly trying to see the other side of the story, so I can give someone else the benefit of the doubt, because I know that there are two sides to every situation…I know I don’t always know the whole story, so I try to keep that in mind…apparently, I’m the only one in the world who does that…

I defend people I admire and respect because I know I don’t always understand their motives or thoughts, but I trust that they are doing the best they can…and I hope they have some plan that I just don’t understand…

And yet, sometimes I know things very concretely…I know when I’m being taken for granted…I can feel it in my bones…and I’m tired of making excuses for it, simply because I know that isn’t the intention…screw that…if perception is reality, as I am so often reminded, then it is what it is…

Sometimes seeing the world in shades of gray is more curse than gift…giving the benefit of the doubt is sometimes treated like a weakness…but I tend to be right more often than I’m wrong – because I believed there was another side…and this is me, the chick who doesn’t trust anyone…at what point am I going to be given that luxury? Never, apparently…

I’m accused of being controlling…or of expecting too much…or not being grateful enough…or a million other things…and hell, perception is reality, right?

Ok, rant over…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on February 6, 2012, in Thinking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

