Thirteen Years Ago, Today…

On February 12, 1999, I met The Ex…of course, that day he was just The Annoying Bother…The Guy Who Wouldn’t Take A Hint…

Before it was popular, I met The Ex online…through ICQ (is that even around anymore?)…I was in college, up late, writing a paper…and he said, “Hi.” I was uninterested, so I ignored him…he pestered me until I told him if he couldn’t find something more interesting to say than “Hi” then I wasn’t interested…

We weren’t a match made in heaven, not by a long shot – ask any of my college roommates…but in the first few months when it was just conversation, we worked…that should have told me something later, right?

Anyway, I’m not a sentimental person by nature…I tend not to remember dates or who said what or what everyone was wearing…that stuff isn’t usually very important to me…I remembered the details all these years because The Ex remembers stuff like that…

And it’s on my mind tonight, because The Ex made it clear to me last night that it was on his mind…

This is probably the blog post where I’m supposed to rail against the last 13 years and ask myself if those years were wasted or not…I think I’m supposed to be sad at the loss of the original relationship…

I’m dispassionate, at best….but mostly ambivalent…

Would I have ever thought, 13 years later, that this would be the state of our relationship? Of course not…but it is what it is…and I’m more concerned about my future and the boys’ futures to be worried with the past…and I tend not to allow myself to feel regret…I wouldn’t be who I am today without everything that’s happened through the years…

And so, even though I’m not sentimental, this date needs to be marked – because of the anniversary dates coming up…stay tuned…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on February 12, 2012, in Moments in Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

