One Year Ago…

One year ago today, I told The Ex I wanted a divorce…I know most people say that they asked for a divorce…with The Ex, asking was never my style (sad but true)…I told him…and a few months later, I made it happen…

I cried about it…because I knew I was causing him pain…because I felt like a failure who couldn’t cut it at marriage…because I hate confrontation and didn’t know what would happen…because I felt like I had worked hard for all those years for nothing…

I grieved long before I ever told him…before I ever told myself…I let myself come very close to making really stupid decisions, dipping my toe into a place I should have run screaming from – but there really is an upside to everything…without that close call, I never would have woken up to just how unhappy I was, just how broken the marriage was (probably for years)…

A lot has happened between The Ex and myself in the past 365 days…the Scorpio part of me doesn’t forgive easily (usually never)…but I’m trying…I’m trying to see him in a different light, see him for the man I think he wants to be…unfortunately, as he did in our marriage, he disappoints me more often than not…maybe my standards are too high, but I make no apologies for that…but I do think he tries…and I can respect that…

So yeah, I’m the chick who told her husband she wanted a divorce 12 years and one day after they met, and one day before Valentine’s Day…you know, I never said I wanted to win Wife of the Year…

I just hope that if I’m ever fortunate enough to get a second chance at love and marriage, I do a better job than the first go-round…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on February 13, 2012, in Moments in Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Happy 1 year anniversary of the start of your next chapter of life. Don’t feel bad, I told my husband (of 23 years) that I wanted a divorce 3 days before his birthday. Some things can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

