This Side of Valentine’s Day

So I’m a little late on the whole Valentine’s Day thing…I was busy…I was working…and as usual, that’s what kept me sane…

I learn things about myself all the time…and so far I’ve learned that holidays are important to me, even and especially Valentine’s Day…

For years, I didn’t care about Valentine’s Day, Christmas, even my birthday…I allowed it to just be another day in the year…even if I did something special for The Ex…well, them days are over, buddy…

When I grow up, I want romance, I want my special days to be important to my partner (that invisible imaginary man)…hell, I want flowers, gifts, whatever…take some time, spend a few dollars, let me know I’m important…

As I sit here, eating the boys’ Valentine’s candy, I’m glad I’m on this side of the holiday…if I hadn’t been working and travelling, I would have sat in my house, on my couch, reading love stories, drinking wine, and feeling sorry for myself…and I am sooooo glad that didn’t happen…

I’m ready to celebrate a much more important holiday now – President’s Day…not because I’m just that patriotic, hell no! I have the day off of work and Aidan has school…now that is a freaking holiday!

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on February 16, 2012, in Random and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

