Escaping…For A Moment

I don’t know what happened to me today, but this was my grumpy day…my day to be overly sensitive for no real reason…my day to feel completely misunderstood, forgotten, and unappreciated…

Not sure what happened there, but I wasn’t good company…

It wasn’t until this afternoon, on my way to pick up the boys, that the whole day hit me full-force…I felt like I was carrying 50 extra pounds on my shoulders…I could literally feel the pressure building…I let the tears hit me (I had to relieve the pressure somehow)…but I decided not to think too much about what was causing it…

But I know…I don’t shrug things off easily…and the tension of constant parenting with little to no break is creeping in…there are no other options right now, and I can’t let myself dwell on something I have no control over…I have to be able to function…I almost slipped into a pity party, but that seemed pretty pointless…

Sometimes it’s easier to pretend everything is fine than deal with the emotions…so tonight, I’ve got the earbuds in, listening to music I like, just chillin’, trying to transport myself mentally to anywhere but here…there’s something to be said for escaping, even for a few minutes…

About Michaela Mitchell

A few things come to mind easily when I think of myself - a mom, a friend, a daughter, a hard-worker. But there's so much more to me - and I just have to discover what it is.

Posted on February 17, 2012, in Thinking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

